header image


This is the blog of Ian Rosales Casocot. Filipino writer. Sometime academic. Former backpacker. Twink bait. Hamster lover.

Interested in What I Create?


Thursday, February 26, 2009

entry arrow3:46 PM | The 59th Palanca Awards is Now Open

On its 59th year, the Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature, the country's most prestigious and longest-running literary contest, officially opens on 1 March 2009.

This year, the Palanca Awards announces the introduction of two new categories –- Poetry Written for Children in the English Division and Tulang Isinulat Para sa mga Bata in the Filipino division. In these new categories, envisioned to encourage the development of a body of poetry for young children, an entry must consist of a collection of at least 10 but not more than 15 poems. It may deal with any subject and must be comprehensible within the grade-school reading level of children ages 6-12, but accessible in its oral form by younger children.

The complete regular categories under which participants can submit their entries are: English Division (Short Story, Short Story for Children, Essay, Poetry, Poetry Written for Children, One-act Play, Full-length Play); Filipino Division (Maikling Kuwento, Maikling Kuwentong Pambata, Sanaysay, Tula, Tulang Isinulat Para sa mga Bata, Dulang May Isang Yugto, Dulang Ganap ang Haba, and Dulang Pampelikula); Regional Languages Division (Short Story in Cebuano, Short Story in Hiligaynon and Short Story in Iluko). Each contestant may submit only one entry per category.

Meanwhile, in the Kabataan Essay Division, the Palanca Awards' special division for writers below 18 years old, the theme in the English category is "How can the Filipino youth help build a globally competitive nation?" In the Filipino category, the theme is "Paano makatutulong ang kabataang Filipino sa pagtataguyod ng isang maunlad na bansa na maihahanay sa mga nangungunang bayan sa buong mundo?"

The literary contest is open to all Filipino (or former Filipino) citizens, except current officers and employees of its organizing body, the Carlos Palanca Foundation, Inc. Contest rules and official entry forms are available at the Palanca Awards' official website. For further information, you may call telephone number 856-0808.

Entries with complete requirements may be submitted to the Foundation's office at the 6th Floor, One World Square Bldg., 10 Upper McKinley Road, McKinley Hill Town Center, Fort Bonifacio, Taguig City or may also be entered online through the Palanca Awards website or sent through email at palancaawards@yahoo.com.

Deadline of submission of entries for this year's awards is midnight of 30 April 2009. Winners will be announced on 1 September 2009.

Labels: , , ,

[0] This is Where You Bite the Sandwich