header image


This is the blog of Ian Rosales Casocot. Filipino writer. Sometime academic. Former backpacker. Twink bait. Hamster lover.

Interested in What I Create?


Friday, May 16, 2008

entry arrow12:15 AM | No Pinoy Takers of Frank O'Connor Prize

Just stumbled on this in Bookslut: The Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award, established only in 2005, is an annual award of 35,000 euros -- which makes it the world's richest prize for the short story form. The award goes to the author of the book judged to be the best collection of stories published in English for the first time anywhere in the world in the twelve months between September of one year and August of the next. Publishers, authors, or agents may enter eligible works of short fiction. Past winners include Yiyun Li, Haruki Murakami, and Miranda July.

This year, there are five long-listed authors from Ireland, fourteen from Britain, four from Australia, four from New Zealand, eight from the U.S., and one each from Canada, Singapore, Taiwan, and Nigeria.

Big question: No Filipino authors in the bunch? Not one Filipino author or publisher thought of joining this contest, even given the fact that we churn out a lot of short story collections every year? Sayang naman.

Labels: ,

[0] This is Where You Bite the Sandwich